Gourdguy's Blog

Where nature and art meet!

MUZZLE-LOADER

At the time I made the muzzle-loader I was fascinated by making walking sticks out of multicolored heartwood of dead cedar.  This piece turned into something more strangely that what I first visualized.  The hammer and rear sight are made of ebony; the ramrod is of a walnut dowel.  The feature that is most interesting is the animal’s head that I carved on the end of the stock.  One eye appears normal, but the other eye is missing as if it were ripped from the animal’s head.  After knowing that I was going to carve the head, I had no choice but to leave the two horns.  I was lucky to have kept the two triggers intact as part of the main body.

muzzle-loaderend-stock-muzzle-loader

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2009 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
