Gourdguy's Blog

Where nature and art meet!

Old Man Gourd

This is my first sculptured gourd of a life-size human’s head.  It took some doing because I didn’t have a gourd with the wall thickness that was required for all the detail that I preferred. So I did my best with what I had.  I made the neck and shirt out of another gourd.  The nose is a small banana gourd; the cap is just parts of gourds.  Both the cap and nose are removable because they are held in place with rare-earth magnets.  The eyes were shaped on two pieces of wood and mounted from the inside.  The pipe is a gourd that I grew many years ago and have waited till now to finally find a suitable place for it. The ears were halves of small gourds to help in simulating ears.  

Final Old Man Gourd

5 comments on “Old Man Gourd

  1. Lolo
    February 26, 2013

    This is a very special piece! The man has such character…and his pipe looks like a real pipe.

  2. Kimbel
    February 27, 2013

    So love it. You got the glue around the nose the exact same color as the gourd…what is that glue name…

    • gourdguy
      February 27, 2013

      Kimbel, you may be surprised to know that the nose was not glued on…but instead, is attached by magnets. One is embedded in the nose and the other was installed on the inside.
      I try to stay away from using glue as the color often doesn’t blend with the skin of the gourds. Thanks for inquiring!

  3. Rita
    March 1, 2013

    Dare I say this guy has a magnetic personality?
    Of course I do – he is so “attractive”!
    Loving the shirt, tie and his ears … congrats on another great piece.
    Cheers – Rita

    • gourdguy
      March 1, 2013

      Magnetic personality? Attractive? Did I mention I was the model for this piece??

      😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .
